NIH Behavioral and Social Sciences Research Coordinating Committee

The NIH Behavioral and Social Sciences Research Coordinating Committee (BSSR CC) was established to enhance information exchange, communication, integration, and coordination of behavioral and social sciences research/training activities at the NIH. Formerly known as the NIH Health and Behavior Coordinating Committee, the committee's name was changed in 1996 to emphasize its relationship with the Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research (OBSSR), Office of the Director (OD), NIH. The NIH Institute/Center Directors (ICDs) participate in the Coordinating Committee through their appointment of a member and an alternate.

Specifically, the BSSR CC is charged with the following:

  • Serving as an advisory body to the Director, OBSSR/OD/NIH. This includes (a) making recommendations regarding scientific, programmatic, and policy issues and activities and (b) assisting OBSSR in the coordination of and collaboration among the ICDs in programmatic and scientific activities in the behavioral and social sciences at the NIH.
  • Serving as a point of coordination among the ICDs, OBSSR, NIH staff, and the external scientific community. This includes facilitating and promoting (a) exchange of programmatic and scientific information of mutual interest and (b) planning and implementation of collaborative programmatic and scientific activities and initiatives.

In fulfilling this charge, the BSSR CC meets to plan, develop, and coordinate such activities as the issuance of Program Announcements and Requests for Applications; the convening of scientific lectures, seminars, and workshops; the preparation of reports on the current status and future direction of health and behavior research at the NIH; the organization of presentations to lay and scientific organizations; and the addition of behavioral and social research components to NIH initiatives and studies.

The Director, NIH, appoints the chair of the BSSR CC, and each Institute/Center Director appoints a member and an alternate to serve as representatives. The NIH Office of the Director is represented by the Office of Disease Prevention (ODP), the Office of AIDS Research (OAR), and the Office of Research on Women’s Health. BSSR CC meetings are also open to NIH employees.

For additional information about BSSR-CC, please contact:

Kathryn Morris, MPH
BSSR CC Executive Secretary
Health Science Policy Analyst
Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research
kathryn.morris@nih.gov

Wendy B. Smith, MA, Ph.D., BCB
Acting Deputy Director
Associate Director
Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research
smithwe@mail.nih.gov

NIH Institutes, Centers and Offices Members and Alternates

Click on the name of the IC acronym to see the member contact information

CSR  |  FIC  |  NCATS  |  NCCIH  |  NCI  |  NEI  |  NHGRI  |  NHLBI  |  NIA  |  NIAAA  |  NIBIB  |  NIDA  |
NIDCD  |   NIDCR  |  NIDDK  |  NIEHS  |  NIGMS  |  NIMH  |  NIMHD  |  NINDS  |  NINR  |  NLM  |  OAR/OD | OBSSR/OD  |  ODP/OD  |  ORWH/OD 

CENTER FOR SCIENTIFIC REVIEW (CSR)

Stacey FitzSimmons, Ph.D.
Scientific Review Officer, Risk, Prevention & Health Behavior
Division of AIDS, Behavioral & Population Sciences
CSR
fitzsimmonss@csr.nih.gov

Karyl B. Swartz, Ph.D.
Associate Director for Diversity and Workforce Development
CSR
swartzkb@csr.nih.gov

FOGARTY INTERNATIONAL CENTER (FIC)

Marya Levintova
Program Officer, Division of International Training and Research
FIC
Marya.Levintova@nih.gov

Laura Povlich, Ph.D.
Program Officer, Division of International Training and Research
FIC (Alternate)
povlichlk@mail.nih.gov

NATIONAL CENTER FOR ADVANCING TRANSLATIONAL SCIENCES (NCATS)

Patricia Jones, Dr.P.H., MPH
Program Director, Division of Clinical Innovation
NCATS
patricia.jones@nih.gov

NATIONAL CENTER FOR COMPLEMENTARY AND INTEGRATIVE HEALTH (NCCIH)

Lanay M. Mudd, Ph.D.
Program Director, Division of Extramural Research
(NCCIH)
lanay.mudd@nih.gov

NATIONAL CANCER INSTITUTE (NCI)

William Klein, Ph.D.
Associate Director, Behavioral Research Program
NCI
kleinwm@mail.nih.gov

Susan Czajkowski, Ph.D.
Chief, Health Behaviors Research
NCI (Alternate)
czajkows@mail.nih.gov

Paige Green, PhD., MPH
Chief, Basic Biobehavioral and Psychological Sciences Branch
NCI (Alternate)
greenpa@nih.gov

NATIONAL EYE INSTITUTE (NEI)

Cheri Wiggs, Ph.D.
Program Director, Perception & Psychophysics, Myopia & Refractive Errors,
Low Vision & Blindness Rehabilitation
NEI
cheri.wiggs@nih.gov

NATIONAL HUMAN GENOME RESEARCH INSTITUTE (NHGRI)

Laura Koehly, Ph.D.
Acting Chief, Social and Behavioral Research Branch
NHGRI
koehlyl@mail.nih.gov

Dave Kaufman, Ph.D.
Program Director, Division of Genomics and Society
NHGRI
dave.kaufman@nih.gov

NATIONAL HEART, LUNG, AND BLOOD INSTITUTE (NHLBI)

Catherine Stoney, Ph.D.
Program Director, Division of Prevention and Population Sciences
NHLBI
stoneyc@nhlbi.nih.gov

Sonia Arteaga, Ph.D.
Program Director, Clinical Applications and Prevention Branch
NHLBI (Alternate)
arteagass@nhlbi.nih.gov

Rebecca Campo, Ph.D.
Program Officer, Clinical Applications and Prevention Branch
NHLBI (Alternate)
rebecca.campo@nih.gov 

 

NATIONAL INSTITUTE ON AGING (NIA)

Lisbeth Nielsen, Ph.D.
Chief, Individual Behavioral Processes Branch
NIA
nielsenli@nia.nih.gov

Georgeanne Patmios, MA
Acting Chief, Population and Social Processes Branch
NIA (Alternate)
gp29p@nih.gov

NATIONAL INSTITUTE ON ALCOHOL ABUSE AND ALCOHOLISM (NIAAA)

Marcia Scott, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator, Division of Epidemiology and Prevention Research
NIAAA
mscott@mail.nih.gov

Anita Bechtholt, Ph.D.
Program Director, Division of Treatment and Recovery Research
NIAAA (Alternate)
anita.bechtholt@nih.gov

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF ALLERGY AND INFECTIOUS DISEASES (NIAID)

Edith Swann, Ph.D.
Medical Officer/Nurse Consultant, Vaccine Clinical Research Branch
NIAID
swanne@mail.nih.gov

Sheryl Zwerski, MSN, CRNP
Acting Director, Prevention Sciences Program
NIAID (Alternate)
zwerskis@mail.nih.gov

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF ARTHRITIS AND MUSCULOSKETETAL AND SKIN DISEASES (NIAMS)

James Witter, M.D., Ph.D.
Medical Officer, Rheumatic Diseases Clinical Program
NIAMS
witterj@mail.nih.gov

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF BIOMEDICAL IMAGING AND BIOENGINEERING (NIBIB)

Mary Rodgers, PT, Ph.D.
Senior Advisor for Bioengineering
NIBIB
mary.rodgers@mail.nih.gov

EUNICE KENNEDY SHRIVER NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF CHILD HEALTH AND HUMAN DEVELOPMENT (NICHD)

James Griffin, Ph.D.
Deputy Chief, Child Development and Behavior Branch
NICHD
griffinj@mail.nih.gov

Rosalind King, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator, Population Dynamics Branch
NICHD (Alternate)
kingros@mail.nih.gov

NATIONAL INSTITUTE ON DRUG ABUSE (NIDA)

Moira O’Brien, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator, Epidemiology Research Branch
NIDA
mobrien@nida.nih.gov

Shelley Su, Ph.D.
Program Officer, Behavioral and Cognitive Neuroscience Branch
NIDA
Shelley.Su@nih.gov

NATIONAL INSTITUTE ON DEAFNESS AND OTHER COMMUNICATION DISORDERS (NIDCD)

Lana Shekim, Ph.D.
Director, Voice and Speech Programs
NIDCD
shekiml@nidcd.nih.gov

Amy Poremba, Ph.D.
Director Central Pathways for Hearing & Balance Program
NIDCD (Alternate)
porembaa@nidcd.nih.gov

 

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF DENTAL AND CRANIOFACIAL RESEARCH (NIDCR)

Melissa Riddle, Ph.D.
Chief, Behavioral and Social Sciences Research Branch
NIDCR
riddleme@mail.nih.gov

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF DIABETES AND DIGESTIVE AND KIDNEY DISEASE (NIDDK)

Christine Hunter, Ph.D.
Program Director, Division of Diabetes, Endocrinology, and Metabolic Diseases
NIDDK
hunterchristine@mail.nih.gov

Luke E Stoeckel, Ph.D.
Program Director, Division of Diabetes, Endocrinology, and Metabolic Diseases
NIDDK
luke.stoeckel@nih.gov

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH SCIENCES (NIEHS)

Symma Finn, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator, Population Health Branch
NIEHS
finns@niehs.nih.gov

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF GENERAL MEDICAL SERVICES (NIGMS)

Susan Gregurick, Ph.D.
Director, Division of Biomedical Technology, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology (BBCB)
NIGMS
susan.gregurick@nih.gov

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF MENTAL HEALTH (NIMH)

Janine M. Simmons, M.D., Ph.D.
Program Chief, Affect, Social Behav & Social Cognition
NIMH
simmonsj@mail.nih.gov

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF MINORITY HEALTH AND HEALTH DISPARITIES (NIMHD)

Courtney Aklin, Ph.D.
Chief of Staff
NIMHD
courtney.aklin@nih.gov

Adelaida Rosario, Ph.D.
Health Specialist
NIMHD (Alternate)
adelaida.rosario@nih.gov

Meryl Sufian, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
NIMHD (Alternate)
sufianm@mail.nih.gov

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF NEUROLOGICAL DISORDERS AND STROKE (NINDS)

Debra Babcock, M.D., Ph.D.
Program Director, Behavioral and Cognitive Neuroscience
NINDS
dbabcock@mail.nih.gov

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF NURSING RESEARCH (NINR)

Augie Diana, Ph.D.
Team Lead, Technology including Small Business Research (SBIR/STTR)
NINR
dianaa@mail.nih.gov

NATIONAL LIBRARY OF MEDICINE (NLM)

Barbara Rapp, Ph.D.
Chief, Office of Planning and Analysis
NLM
rappb@mail.nih.gov

OFFICE OF AIDS RESEARCH (OAR/OD)

Paul Gaist Ph.D., MPH
Coordinator and Health Scientist Administrator, Behavioral and Social Science Research
OAR
gaistp@mail.nih.gov

 

OFFICE OF DISEASE PREVENTION (ODP/OD)

Jocelyn Lee, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
ODP
leeja3@od.nih.gov

OFFICE OF RESEARCH ON WOMEN'S HEALTH (ORWH/OD)

Katrina Serrano, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
ORWH/OD
katrina.serrano@nih.gov

Close